Capture HDTV using your firewire-equipped cable box

25 01 2007

According to FCC regulations, all DVRs that cable companys rent must have an active firewire port. While unfortunately you likely won’t be able to record premium channels such as HBO, INHD, DiscoveryHD. All broadcast channels must be open. If any broadcast channels are encrypted a quick call to your cable company will fix this. This is a dream come true for all you TV archivers.
While I use this method primarily for recording 720p, and 1080i HDTV sources, this will work for standard definition digital channels as well.

 

 

Step 1: Download generic TV Tuner firewire drivers here.
Step 2: Extract these files into a new folder.
Step 3: Connect cable box to PC using firewire cable. (6pin to 6pin, and 6pin to 4pin will work)
Step 4: Found new hardware wizard windows should appear. Click cancel for all windows that do.
Step 5: Open the Device Manager. This can be found under “Start/Control Panel/System/Hardware (tab)/Device Manager (button)”.
Step 6: Disable “Unknown Device”, and “AVC Panel” under “Other Devices” by right clicking each and choosing “disable”.
Step 7: Right click “Tuner AV/C Device” under “Imaging Devices” and choose “Update Driver…”
Step 8: Select “Install from a disk or specific location”, and click “next”.
Step 9: Select “Don’t search. I will chose the driver to install”, and click “next”.
Step 10: Click the “Have Disk” button, and then the “Browse” button, and point it inside the folder you extracted the drivers to, and double-click “miestb”. Click “Ok”, and then “Next”
Step 11: Ignore the warning about “Windows Logo Testing”, and click “Continue Anyway”, and then “Finish”. Your cable box is now connected to your PC.
Step 12: Download CapDVHS here. Extract to the location of your choice, and open CapDVHS.exe.
Step 13: Select “Digital AV/C Tuner Device” from the dropdown menu.
Step 14: Click the “Setting” tab, and change “PS File Extension”, “188 bytes Files Extension”, and “192 bytes file extension” to “.ts”. This will create transport stream captures which are an identical copies to the signals you receive from the cable company. You can also select your output folder by clicking “Save Folder” in the setting tab. You’ll also want to be sure to check “Check file Exists”. If you don’t, you’ll probably end up accidently deleting a show, and have to do it over.
Step 15: Capture the transport stream by clicking “Record”.

You’re done! For help with playback, and editing visit the links page. If you want to dive right in, download Elecard and VideoRedo.

Here are some recent snapshots of shows captured using this method.
shrunken image

shrunken image
This images have been resized, click on them for full size.

Actions

Information

16 responses

25 01 2007
Harshad Joshi

Thats great. :P

11 02 2007
Hdtv1080p

Hello, i have a question! Will roxio easy media creator 9 playback my recordings. I have a motorola Dct6412 III Dvr cox box.

11 02 2007
Mike

Hello,

Great job on the explanation for the subject task; although, I followed the instructions and when I hit record it just goes on forever (30+ minutes) and the file isn’t recognized and has 0 bytes.

I disconnected my DVR (Motorola HDTV 6412) from the TV in the family room and brought it to my office. I connected it to my PC – Gateway GM5072 w/ MC – via fire wire.

Any ideas on what I’m doing wrong? Thanks!! Mike

I sent some pix to your emial of what my set looks like…

11 02 2007
Mike

Continued from the above… I left DVHS running for 300 minutes last night and it timed out by morning. I went to open the file – it had been converted to an elecard file – but still had 0 bytes of data in it.

When setting this up I made the changes in Device Mgr. and downloaded all of the programs as suggested, but no data appears to be moved when I hit record. The timer runs, but nothing is moved….

Any ideas??

12 09 2007
Mark

Where do I download the drivers?
Where do I download CapDVHS ?
Can’t find either of them.

10 11 2007
eaeffie

STOP downloading YouTube Videos

until u read this

Feature Compare TOP 10 Downloaders

At: http://youtubedownloaders.blogspot.com

* Orbit
* Xilisoft
* VDownloader
* TubeSucker
* VideoGet
* 1-Click Batch Downloader
* My Video Downloader
* YouTubeDownloader

6 11 2008
Dan

I get this message after it is download

Windows Media Player cannot play the file. The Player might not support the file type or a required codec might not be installed on your computer.

I had it working before but cant get it to work now. Any chance you might know what I need?

18 07 2009
fetish pee

emm. thanks ))

10 01 2010
Allan

The link in Instruction 1 above takes me to hdjunkie website.
I don’t where within that site I can find and install firedriver for my
Scientific Atlanta 3250 stp for use with my Vista o/s Hp computer
Can anyone help me ou, please?
Thanks

Allan

24 11 2010
Electric Burner

cable companies are also offering broadband internet these days and the cost is cheap too -~;

24 11 2010
Thermal Imaging

cable tvs these days are rapidly being converted into a digital service which offers more value added services .:”

8 08 2011
SWTOR

F*ckin¡¦ remarkable issues here. I am very satisfied to look your article. Thank you a lot and i’m having a look ahead to touch you. Will you kindly drop me a mail?

12 09 2011
Carl

I stumbled onto your web site, i believe your blog site is awsome, keep writing.

13 09 2011
Alfie

I prefer your blog! Have you got a facebook or myspace or fb page? I’d love to get together and discuss a couple of things. I appreciate you for all of your work.

17 03 2014
Adeline

Hello there! This post couldn’t be written
much better! Looking through this article reminds me
of my previous roommate! He constantly kept preaching about this.
I most certainly will forward this information to him.

Fairly certain he’ll have a good read. I appreciate you for sharing!

6 04 2014
Lucienne

Pretty! This was an extremely wonderful article.

Thanks for providing these details.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

